I Am Wilshire: Gina Ortegon

by | Mar 8, 2024 | I Am Wilshire

Hometown: Pensacola, Florida;
Present City: Allen;
Education: Bachelor of Interior Design, Auburn University;
Profession: Manufacturers’ Sales Rep;

Tell us about your family.
I’m married to Ronnie Ortegon, and we have three daughters: Elena, 22, Erika, 22, and Ana, 17.

How about your work or volunteer life?
I worked as an interior designer in Dallas in the hospitality industry, then I developed a software program for hospitality designers. I was a stay-at-home mom for about seven years. I’m now a sales rep for several companies who manufacture carpet, fabric and leather. I call on designers who do hotel design, so I know the people and the products. It’s really fun.

Any favorite hobbies?
I like to camp, kayak and hike. I have taken up knitting again after many years and am very good at rectangles (blankets and scarves.)

What are your favorite places to travel?
The beach is always my first choice. Ronnie and I would also love to go back to the UK one day.

What brought you to Wilshire and when?
Ronnie and I grew up in different faith backgrounds, so once married, we tried to be Methodist for several years. In between joining different Methodist churches, we’d visit Wilshire (I had a friend from back home who went here), and George Mason would see us and say, “Ronnie and Gina! How are you?” We just felt very welcomed and it was a good fit for us. We joined in 2001.

Where are you engaged at Wilshire?
We are members of Epiphany Class. I haven’t missed a Women’s Retreat since Wilshire started having them. We volunteer in the preschool hallway when we can. That was a lifeline for me when my girls were young and Ronnie was traveling a lot with work, so we want to be there for families when we can. I’m also on the Interior Design Committee, the Building & Grounds Committee and will be the deacon chair in 2025.

What has surprised you most about Wilshire?
I’m surprised we are not a larger congregation … Wilshire is great. We can do hard things, and God is blessing us. I think everyone would like it here. Invite your friends.

What do you think God is up to in your life right now?
There are many transitions happening in my life right now. I’m learning how to lean on God and be more flexible but intentional with my practices. I have a way to go.

What’s something interesting most people would not know about you?
My family lived in England when I was in elementary school.

What adjectives best describe you?
Calm, funny, earnest.

*If you are interested in being featured in an upcoming I Am Wilshire feature, contact Carolyn Murray (cmurray@wilshirebc.org)