I Am Wilshire: Emily Donovan

by | Jul 21, 2023 | I Am Wilshire

I Am Wilshire – Emily Donovan.

Hometown: Richmond, Texas;
Present City: Dallas;
Education: B.A. in communications, University of Colorado Boulder;
Profession: Stay-at-home mom

Tell us about your family.
My husband, Blake, and I met in college and have been married for four years. We have two daughters: Vivian is 3, and Sutton is 20 months old. Our girls keep us very busy!

How about your work or volunteer life?
After college, I worked in marketing for a real estate development firm for several years in Denver, then did the same thing for several years in Dallas. I left my job to stay home with my first born in 2020, just prior to the pandemic, and currently stay home with both of my girls. I am an active member of Junior League of Dallas and have had the opportunity to volunteer with Cancer Support Community of North Texas through Junior League for nearly a decade. I am also a member of Lakewood Early Childhood PTA.

Any favorite hobbies?
We live in Lakewood, and I love being able to spend time outside at White Rock Lake or at the playground with my girls (when it’s not too hot outside). I enjoy doing Pilates, trying new restaurants, traveling and attempting to learn new things like mahjong or tennis.

What is your favorite place to travel?
My husband and I love to travel! Iceland, Italy and Colombia are a few of my favorite places I have traveled to. My husband is from Colorado, so our family also spends a lot of time in the mountains — it’s our happy place!

What brought you to Wilshire and when?
My husband and I joined Wilshire virtually in 2020 during the pandemic. I grew up in a Baptist church, so when my husband and I started thinking about starting our own family, I knew I wanted to find a church to raise our girls in and a place where we could all grow closer to God.

Where are you engaged at Wilshire?
I attend Labyrinth Class and participate in Wilshire’s MOPS (Mothers of Preschoolers) group. My daughters also attend Wilshire’s ECLC during the school year.

What’s something interesting most people would not know about you?
I moved to Denver during high school. After I graduated, my parents moved back to the Houston area, and I chose to stay and attend college in Boulder. Eventually I found my way back to Texas, but still consider Colorado to be a second home.

*If you are interested in being featured in an upcoming I Am Wilshire feature, contact Carolyn Murray(cmurray@wilshirebc.org)