I Am Wilshire – Sue McElveen

by | Oct 29, 2021 | I Am Wilshire, Uncategorized

I Am Wilshire: Sue McElveen


Hometown: Knoxville, Tennessee

Profession: Fiber Consultant for DuPont Textiles Division

Present City: Dallas


Tell us about your family. I am married to Jerry McElveen. This is the second marriage for both of us, and we have three grown children. My two sons are Addison and Justin. Jerry’s daughter is Kalyse. We are the perfect blended family — all of our children love each other and treat each other as if they were raised together.


What keeps you busy these days? I retired from DuPont in 1996. Volunteer work is my passion. I belong to Altrusa International of Richardson, a philanthropic organization with worldwide chapters. The mission is to support literacy in the community as well as globally. We also support many organizations in the Richardson community such as elementary schools, senior living facilities, local food banks and a home for persons with cerebral palsy. We support kindness projects of all kinds. Being one who likes to volunteer, I love the work Wilshire is doing locally as well as our work at the Texas border helping refugees.


How did you come to Wilshire? Sam and Peggy Tinsley invited us to Wilshire. We will be forever grateful to them. As I said earlier, we love the mission work that Wilshire does and we love the statement “Building a Community of Faith Shaped by the Spirit of Jesus Christ.”  The idea that ALL people are welcome drew us in from the moment we heard George preach.


How are you engaged in the life of the church? I am on the Belong Team. We are members of Compass Class and absolutely love going every Sunday. We attended by Zoom during the early stages of the pandemic, and that was a wonderful connection during a time of isolation. I am serving as the missions chair for Compass Class, and I’m already working on the projects we have selected. Jerry and I are both greeters, and we enjoy welcoming guests and members to church each Sunday.


What are your favorite hobbies? My hobbies are traveling and knitting. I am currently knitting five different afghans for family and friends, as well as a baby blanket for dear friends. We love to visit England, Ireland and Denmark, where we have adopted family. One of my personal favorite places to visit is Italy. Spain is on my bucket list once we get past the pandemic.


■ If you’d like to be featured in “I Am Wilshire,” contact Carolyn Murray at cmurray@wilshirebc.org.