I Am Wilshire: Price Tinsley

by | Mar 1, 2024 | I Am Wilshire

Hometown: Garland;
Present City: Garland;
Education: BA, University of North Texas;
Profession: Texas Department of Public Safety, Driver License Division;

Tell us about your family.
I am married to Sara, who I met at Wilshire in 2001. We have two children, Gillian, 18, and Anabelle, 14. We have three dogs and three cats, plus a few fish. Luke Munion lives with us. He works with Gillian in food service at Wilshire.

How about your work or volunteer life?
I work for the Texas DPS in the Driver License division. I started this job last October after having been an operations supervisor at a valet company for 11 years.

Any favorite hobbies?
I’ve been a volleyball referee for almost 20 years. I am considering joining a local men’s chorus. Music has increasingly become a passion of mine, and I’m expanding my horizons from just playing the clarinet.

What are your favorite places to travel?
Anywhere in the mountains. I fell in love with the Rockies. My family is from Arkansas, so I’ve spent a lot of time in the Ouachita and Ozark mountains. We’ve traveled to the highlands of Scotland. I would like to see the Andes Mountains in Peru and Chile.

What brought you to Wilshire and when?
I was born here and attended most of my life, save for a few years when Sara and I lived in Fort Worth.

Where are you engaged at Wilshire?
I sing in Sanctuary Choir and play in Wilshire Winds and Carillon Ringers. I sang in the choir for this year’s Faith in 3D performance of The Christians. I was recently ordained as a deacon. I help out with KidConnect on Wednesday nights and am an active member of Concordia Class. Currently, I am serving on the Committee on Committees. I also help Jeff out with Youth Choir and travel with them as a chaperone.

What has surprised you most about Wilshire?
I wouldn’t say anything has really surprised me, but I am really enjoying what an accepting community Wilshire is and has been for many years.

Tell us about your faith journey.
Growing up in the church, I’d say I’ve been a Christian my whole life. Christ was a servant to all people, and that is how I try to model my life every single day.

What’s something interesting most people would not know about you?
I ride an electric scooter to and from work. I have fallen in love with real football (soccer) and am a fan of Arsenal from the English Premier League. My father and I will be traveling to Arizona to watch Rangers spring training games.

*If you are interested in being featured in an upcoming I Am Wilshire feature, contact Carolyn Murray (cmurray@wilshirebc.org)