I Am Wilshire: Pam Stiles

by | Jun 16, 2023 | I Am Wilshire

I Am Wilshire – Pam Stiles.

Hometown: Garland;
Present City: Dallas;
Education: Bachelor of Arts, Hardin-Simmons University; Masters of Divinity, Southwestern Baptist Theological Seminary
Profession: Waiting on a Chaplain position

Tell us about your family?
I have one adult daughter who lives in the Toronto, Canada, area. I am divorced. My father is deceased, and my mother is in a skilled nursing center. I also have one brother who is younger than me.

How about your work or volunteer life?
Presently, I am waiting on a chaplain position. I have served on a couple of boards at my alma mater. I was able to serve on the National Coordinating Council of the Cooperative Baptist Fellowship.

Any favorite hobbies?
I love to travel and go on humanitarian trips. I’m an avid fan of the Dallas Cowboys, Mavericks, Texas Rangers and NCAA Division 1 women’s softball, especially during playoff season to see who advances to the National Championship Series in Oklahoma City. I also like the Stars. I enjoy walking, conversing with friends, listening to various types of music and texting and talking with my daughter.

What are your favorite places to travel?
I enjoy the Texas Hill Country, Colorado, San Francisco and the Big Sur area. My favorite country is Australia.

What brought you to Wilshire and when?
I came to Wilshire six or seven years ago. Besides God leading me here, I knew of Wilshire’s reputation and George Mason’s preaching from CBF meetings. Because Wilshire made the decision to become a welcoming and affirming church, I knew it was the church for me. My daughter is gay and is married to a transgender person.

Where are you engaged at Wilshire?
I’m on the Belong Team and attend Discovery Class.

Tell us about your faith journey.
I was raised in the church and became a believer at age 9. God called me into ministry years ago, and I first did college ministry. I have a passion for university students and still have a heart for them. I served as a Baptist Student Union director on university campuses and also served on a church staff. While I was a stay-at-home mom I helped create a women’s ministry at our church. I am waiting on a chaplain position to continue my ministry.

Something interesting most people would not know about you?
In 1980 I served as a summer missionary in Kennewick, Washington. That experience deepened my love for missions and helping people.

What adjectives best describe you?
I am a good listener, enjoy meeting people and conversing with them, and am a visionary.

*If you are interested in being featured in an upcoming I Am Wilshire feature, contact Carolyn Murray(cmurray@wilshirebc.org)