I Am Wilshire: Courtney Leal

by | Aug 18, 2023 | I Am Wilshire

Hometown: I was born in New Orleans, but grew up in Plano and Allen;
Education: B.S. from Texas Christian University in deaf education; M.S. from Texas Woman’s University in speech-language pathology;
Profession: Speech language pathologist and itinerant teacher of the deaf and hard of hearing, Regional Day School for the Deaf, Plano ISD
Present city: Frisco

Tell us about your family.
I have been married to Gabe for 24 years. We have three children; Nicholas is a senior at TCU, Jordan is a freshman at Colorado State and Brooklyn is in the 5th grade. My mother, Suzy McLaughlin, lives nearby and also is a member at Wilshire.

How about your work or volunteer life?
I work in Plano ISD with the Regional Day School for the Deaf. I began my career there before Nicholas was born as a speech language pathologist. When Nicholas was born, I decided to be a stay-at-home mom and have loved every minute of it. I have volunteered with Boy Scouts and Girl Scouts and at my children’s schools. When Brooklyn started school I returned to Plano ISD part-time as an itinerant teacher of the deaf and hard of hearing and have been a speech language pathologist for the past two years. This year I will again be an itinerant teacher for the deaf and hard of hearing. Since I work part-time, I work where I am needed within the Regional Day School for the Deaf.

What are your favorite hobbies?
I enjoy spending time with my family, reading, baking, swimming and attending TCU football games. I used to say scrapbooking, but that has become a joke in our house because I am so far behind.

What is your favorite place to travel?
I love the beach!

What brought you to Wilshire and when?
I joined Wilshire the first time in 1996 with my mom after I graduated from TCU. I was active in the singles ministry. Gabe and I were married at Wilshire in 1999. We have had two moves out of state and we have looked for a church closer to Frisco, but Wilshire always calls us home.

Where are you engaged at Wilshire?
Gabe and I are members of Seekers Class. I’ve taught the kindergarten worship education class at the beginning of each school year since 2010.

What’s something interesting most people wouldn’t know about you?
I lived in Singapore when I was a year old. I also know sign language.

*If you are interested in being featured in an upcoming I Am Wilshire feature, contact Carolyn Murray (cmurray@wilshirebc.org)