I Am Wilshire: Afton Crissey

by | Feb 25, 2022 | I Am Wilshire

I Am Wilshire – Afton Crissey.

Hometown: Sulphur Springs, Texas
Education: Bachelor of Science in Nursing
Profession: Stay-at-home parent
Present city: Dallas

Tell us about your family.

My husband, Alden, and I met on a dating app at 29 and got married a year later. We have two boys, Henry, 5, and Hugh, 3. Henry is our artist and has big emotions. Hugh loves animals, is on the autism spectrum and has been working really hard over the past year to learn to speak and engage with others. They both have an opinion about everything and keep us on our toes.

Tell us about your work or volunteer life.

After 8 years as an ICU nurse with pretty poor work-life balance, we decided I’d stay home once we had kids. Now I spend most of every day dropping off and picking up the kids from school, activities and Hugh’s therapies.

What are your favorite hobbies?

Do moms have hobbies? Ha. I was a dancer in high school and still enjoy it. I also usually have some art project going around the house.

Where is your favorite place to travel?

New York City to catch a show.

What brought you to Wilshire and when?

We came to Wilshire in 2017 after looking for an inclusive church that also offered a good preschool. George’s sermons sealed the deal.

Where are you engaged at Wilshire?

Alden and I direct Labyrinth Class. I also greet and serve on the Weekday Education Committee.

What do you think God is up to in your life right now?

Helping me adjust my expectations for the future. You tend to map your kids’ lives out before they’re even born, and we’ve worked hard over the past year and a half to pivot to a place of comfort with not knowing what will come next.

Tell us about your faith journey.

I grew up in a very small, conservative church that I attended with my grandparents. There was no youth group. I was never allowed to ask questions. Between my church experience growing up and working a lot of weekends as a nurse, I didn’t attend church for about 15 years. Wilshire is my first time attending as an adult.

What’s something interesting most people wouldn’t know about you?

I grew up in the country. We had a dairy farm until I was in my late twenties.